Posted by: thisinfertilelife | February 10, 2010

Numbers: Friend or Foe?

HCG = 85

Progesterone=41

I go back for another blood draw tomorrow and will get results Thursday afternoon.  Praying for a doubling HCG.  Of course I have no way of knowing what day I actually ovulated, so it is hard to tell whether 85 is a decent beta.  But based on my estimates, it was done at either 14dpo or 17dpo.  I wish the number was at least over 100.  Even that difference would have made me a bit more comfortable.  The good thing is my progesterone level was “fabulous” according to my OB.  As long as the beta doubles in 48 hours, I can relax a bit until the ultrasound.  In some ways, I wish I had just asked for a “good” or “bad” instead of the actual numbers.  I thought the numbers would reassure me, but they’re just making me second guess everything.  Sigh.

Responses

  1. Ugh – we always want a nice big number – I think us infertiles dont know how to deal with the whole have sex get pregnant thing and that the beta maybe (I hope/pray) is just fine.
    Hang in there.

  2. It can’t be easy can it? If only we could just be completely oblivious, assume everything is perfect and never know what a beta is… And support is a two-way street sister. I’m here for you and glad to know you are here for me whatever our futures hold. Wishing you the fastest 48 hours ever.

  3. Good number so far! good luck on the 2nd!

  4. OMG OMG OMG! I just now tuned into this new blog of yours and am TOTALLY freaking out! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    Here’s hoping for a doubling beta!!

  5. Try not to stress it. And remember, it’s likely just one baby in there…so your numbers wouldn’t be as high and are just fine. We’re all routing for you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

