Posted by: thisinfertilelife | April 5, 2010

The Attention Span of a Fly

I have composed so many blog posts in my head lately, but once I sit down to write, it all leaves my head.  I can’t focus on one thing to save my life right now.  Here are some random thoughts in various stages of development:

  • With my SIL pregnant and due one day before me, it has occurred to me on numerous occasions that it would be twice as hard if something happened to one of our pregnancies.  Uggh.
  • Speaking of something happening (or not), home dopplers are a blessing and a curse.  Panic set in when I couldn’t find a heartbeat for a good 10 minutes today.  I put the doppler away, peed, ate a pb&j sandwich and then picked it back up.  Found the heartbeat for about 3 seconds and then lost it again.  But it was enough to provide relief–for tonight at least.
  • Apparently we are going to find out the baby’s gender at the 22 week ultrasound.  Or so my husband answered when the tech asked us on Friday.  Friday’s ultrasound was great, by the way.
  • I just can’t get used to the idea that this pregnancy will result in a real, live baby.  My boss keeps reminding me and bringing up my maternity leave.  Meanwhile, I find myself saying things like “well, I’ll most likely be on leave come December.”  People probably think that’s weird.
  • There’s a baby shower for a coworker of mine this week who is due in a few weeks.  Wonder if they’ll throw me a baby shower since they never did the first time?  I chalk it up to the fact that I went on bed rest at 29 weeks and didn’t see anyone for the duration.  But still, my husband’s coworkers got us very generous gifts and had a surprise shower for him.
  • I CAN’T WAIT for nicer weather and to be able to use our back deck and yard again.  I think the dogs agree.  Note to self, must get gate for deck.
  • I’m waiting for the 2nd trimester burst of energy to kick in.  It never did with the twins.  I’m also waiting for the 1st trimester ickiness to go away.
  • I weighed exactly the same as I did three weeks prior at the doctor’s office on Friday.  At least I didn’t lose weight.
  • When was the last time I saw a movie in a movie theater?  I honestly can’t remember.  How old do the kids have to be for this event?
  • I look 6 months pregnant already.  WTF?
  • Staring at the ultrasound screen on Friday, I just couldn’t grasp the concept that WE made that baby.  Without a petri dish.  How did that happen?  What a miracle.
Responses

  1. It’s gotta be weird…anyone who went through what we went through can’t achieve a “normal” pregnancy. I mean, biologically you can, but emotionally, it’s all too much! People will try to tell you to relax and enjoy this pregnancy, but do what you gotta do to get through…we’re not normal…we need to face it (well, you may be a little more normal than I am!)!!!

  2. when people make babies by having sex (gasp) it always sorta freaks me out – orgasms instead of doctors/lawyers and needles… I can only imagine how freaky it must feel!

  3. Congrats! If memory serves me right I was pretty energetic in late summer to early fall. I guess I could quit being lazy and look at my archives! Haha. Hang in there it should get better soon. Oh and BTW, I cannot believe that your co-workers didn’t do a shower or anything (at least a collection for a gift card or something). That just seems wrong. Hopefully things will go better with work this time around.

  4. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I’m glad you spoke up… I will add you to my Reader.

    Congratulations on the twins and then this spontaneous pregnancy, how exciting! From what I hear, having twins first makes the experience of a newborn singleton a relatively easy task. 🙂 Hope it goes well for you this time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

